In 2018, professional tennis returned to the state of Iowa with the inaugural Old Capitol Futures tournament in Iowa City, Iowa. The UTSA Pro Circuit Event featured 64 qualifying players, 32 in the main draw, and 16 doubles teams. The tournament took place at the Hawkeye Tennis and Recreation Center on the University of Iowa campus from July 14th- July 22nd.

The singles draw was won by Lloyd Glasspool over Evgeny Kalovskiy in two sets, 7-6, 7-6. Nick Chappell and Alex Adamson won the doubles title 2-6, 6-2, 10-6 over Martin Spec and Felix Corwin. Karlovskiy was the No.1 seed for the tournament, and is currently ranked 246 in the world singles ranking. Glasspool is currently ranked 430 in the world singles ranking.

Hawkeye players Kareem Al Allaf, Will Davies and Joe Tyler all competed in the first round of the singles main draw, Al Allaf being the only singles winner from the University of Iowa. Hawkeyes Josh Silverstein and Jason Kerst lost their doubles match 1-6, 2-6 to Alafia Ayeni and Danny Thomas. Al Allaf and Piotr Smietana fell 3-6, 2-6 to Martin Joyce and Maxime Cressy.

Kareem Al Allaf made it to the quarter finals of the singles main draw by defeating current Northwestern Wildcat Strong Kirchheimer in a Big Ten showdown. Al Allaf was then defeated by No. 3 seed Collin Altamirano 6-4, 6-2. Alex Brown, Iowa native and current athlete at the University of Illinois-Champaign, was also a competitor at the Old Capitol Futures.

2018 director Alex Voss will return this year as Tournament Director. The Old Capitol Futures will again take place during the summer of 2019 at the Hawkeye Tennis and Recreation Center. More details about this year’s tournament are to follow in the coming months.

Tournament Partners